Traveling with Care. And Drugs.

Monday May 12th, 2014:  After a sleepless night, we departed for the airport around 3:30 in the morning.  It had been storming all day on Sunday, and early Monday morning there were no signs of letting up.  The roads were slushy, icy, and miserable.  My generous mom had offered us a ride to the airport; and as if I didn’t feel bad already for dragging her out of bed at three in the morning, driving 45 minutes each way in a snowstorm was above and beyond.  Luckily there were barely any other cars on the road and we got to the airport with time to spare.

Image

Our backyard the day we left.

Randall and I both checked large suitcases, but I also brought a carry-on to keep all of my IVF medications safely by my side.  I figured we would probably have to show our letter from the fertility clinic, and explain why we needed an entire suitcase full of vials, syringes, needles, pills, suppositories, alcohol wipes, etc.  Much to my surprise, airport security didn’t even stop me. I’ve been stopped countless times for lip gloss, nail clippers, lighters, and other harmless items…but over 100 needles and little glass bottles were no problem 🙂

Image

Lots of de-icing going on here.

We departed Denver at 7:20am and arrived in Miami around noon.  We had six hours to kill, so we grabbed a bite to eat and did some book shopping.  We departed Miami at 6:55pm, and landed in Barbados at 10:25pm.

Being on an injection schedule is definitely more complicated while traveling.

I took my Buserelin shot in the Denver airport just prior to boarding.  I had no problems loading the syringe and doing the injection in the bathroom stall.

When we arrived in Barbados, I was due for the nighttime injections and I didn’t know how long it would take us to get from the airport to the hotel.  I decided to do the injections in the airport bathroom…

When I got in there, every stall was full and I figured I would grab a stall myself instead of dropping my pants in front of the crowd.  I had a freezer bag prepacked with everything I needed for that night.  I pulled out my Menopur vials, both needles, the Clexane injection, and tried to somehow not let anything touch anything gross while effectively self medicating.

The Menopur process begins with snapping the top off of a little glass bottle.  There is a small blue dot that shows you were to put your thumb, and then with some “oomph”, pop the top back and the top should pop right off.  And in all of my injections up this point, the bottle had cooperated.

However, this night, in the airport bathroom stall, the glass bottle did not pop easily, but rather shattered into a million pieces.  I instantly had blood gushing out of my thumb that had been pressing into the glass.  I went into a semi-panic attack, and decided to wait until most people had exited the bathroom so that I could escape the confines of my stall.  I threw everything back in the bloody freezer bag and hustled out to the bathroom counter.

The next few minutes were a blur.  There was a lot of blood, and a near-epic-meltdown moment.  I had to look at myself in the mirror and say “You got this.”  While standing in the middle of the Barbados airport women’s restroom with my pants around my knees, tears running down my face, and what appeared to be the aftermath of a massacre.  Somehow, I pulled myself together, mixed my drugs, stabbed my stomach and my thigh, cleaned up my mess, and marched myself through customs like nothing had happened.  With half a roll of toilet paper wrapped around my thumb and the hopes that I didn’t contract any diseases by not exactly following “sanitary” protocols.

Just another IVF memory to add to the books.

We got through customs no problem, took a cab to our hotel, checked in, and passed out in minutes.  The anticipation of getting here left us exhausted and we were so ready for a good nights sleep.  Our first appointment at Barbados Fertility Center in the morning- the fun has only just begun!

 

Leave a Reply

